Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Member's Projects and Photos / My 12x16 A-Frame Cabin
. 1 . 2 . 3 . 4 . >>
Jeremy165
# Posted: 6 Apr 2011 20:48 - Edited by: Jeremy165

Hello all,
Well here is the story about my small cabin. I am a General Contractor in Seattle mainly doing interiors – residential remodels, commercial build-outs and TIs. I've snowboarded at Stevens Pass since I was in hs (I'm 27 now) and spent 3 months last winter working on a house and fell in love with the area. I found 1/3 acre for $5000 in a development that never really took off. Its 1.5 hr from Seattle, and .5 hr to the ski area and its going to be a much needed retreat for myself, my girlfriend, our dog, and all our friends.

It was platted for 50 or so lots but there are maybe 10 houses, only a few with year-round residents (most of whom own 3-4 parcels) and the forest is so thick you can't see anyone. It is so opposite from the city, I feel like I'm homesteading in the woods. There is water supply from the community well next to what I'm slowly turning into my driveway and 150ft down the gravel and mud "road" is power. I'd say only about 10 of the parcels have driveways or have been cleared in any way. To get to the property you go over 3 progressively worse looking bridges. The last, built by locals by knocking down some trees and nailing decking over them – actually pretty sturdy. There are old trees on the parcel that 5 people holding hands couldn't encircle.