Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Member's Projects and Photos / Pennsylvania 12x12 Jack Pine Cabin Project
<< . 1 . 2 . 3 . 4 .
WyattEarp
# Posted: 4 Mar 2016 09:52 - Edited by: WyattEarp

Here are some pics I took recently of the land surrounding the cabin - the woods are in the immediate vicinity, but the sunset was down the road about 1/4 mile.
backyardsnowpano.jpg
backyardsnowpano.jpg
IMG_4472sm.jpg
IMG_4472sm.jpg

Fotog
# Posted: 26 Mar 2016 17:56

Hey...guess I'm a rookie forum guy. Just looking for people out there building log cabins. I've built one and thought I'd try to plug in somewhere. Are there real people behind these icons?

WyattEarp
# Posted: 21 Apr 2016 12:25

Hey Fotog,

Sorry I haven't logged in for a while. Yeah my cabin is a slow work in progress, but i'll finish one day!

WyattEarp
# Posted: 9 Oct 2016 10:48

Had some time to work on my cabin this week. I bought an old log dog from eBay. It was found in the woods by the seller in Lancaster, PA behind an old log cabin. After a few logs, the pivoting head broke free and has made things easier. I don't know why I didn't buy one of these sooner! I contacted John Switzer at blackbearforge.com to make me a few new ones.
IMG_5567.JPG
IMG_5567.JPG
IMG_5549.JPG
IMG_5549.JPG
IMG_5568.JPG
IMG_5568.JPG
IMG_5569.JPG
IMG_5569.JPG

WyattEarp
# Posted: 9 Oct 2016 10:59

My logs are not the easiest to work with. There aren't too many straight pines on my property and the majority of these weren't selected for being straight, but cut down clearing the trail and building site. I'm definitely paying for that now!

I may have mentioned this before but I'm running my saw between the logs one pass at a time to get the logs to sit as snug a possible.
IMG_5551.JPG
IMG_5551.JPG
Not too shabby!
Not too shabby!
IMG_5571.JPG
IMG_5571.JPG
IMG_5573.JPG
IMG_5573.JPG

WyattEarp
# Posted: 9 Oct 2016 11:10