Small Cabin

Small Cabin Forum
 - Forums - Register/Sign Up - Reply - Search - Statistics -

Small Cabin Forum / Member's Projects and Photos / Our New Property and Project
. 1 . 2 . 3 . 4 . 5 . 6 . 7 . 8 . 9 . 10 . 11 . 12 . >>
bugs
# Posted: 6 Jun 2009 16:08

Hi All:

I am new to the forum although I have been reading and enjoying the various informative posts for a number of weeks.

In March of this year we purchased 240 acres of "waste" land in the aspen parkland of Saskatchewan. The land consists of a small area of old pasture and a slightly larger area of cropland, which we have rented out to a neighbouring farmer to grow hay. The main features of the property are a large 100 acre pond and some smaller wetlands and about the same amount of dense aspen bush that appears to be in its original state. The place abounds with wild life and birds. We plan on using the property as our own private park where we can sit and enjoy and study nature (I am an aquatic entomologist by trade), do nature photography, go canoeing and in the winter, snowshoeing.

We are presently waiting for the municipality to build an access road from the gravel road. At the same time we have them hired to bull doze a 500-yard trail through the bush to our prospective shed site on a wooded hill overlooking the large pond.

As I am inept with tools and there are no services on the property I hired a local company that builds sheds and cabins to construct an 8x12 foot shed. We want to use the shed as an overnighter for three seasons and as a warm up shelter for the winter snowshoe trips at –25C so we had the shed insulated. We plan on heating it with a small wood stove built and marketed by another local company. I have constructed "the important facility" (Still have all my appendages!!) which is based around the 'humanure" composting toilet principle. We also hope to add a screened in cooking shelter for the "bug" season and raining days.